Reproduction Brake Lines

Kern Fischer

When I checked my Ford dealer recently, they indicated that the flexible brake lines (Body to caliper) were no longer available through the parts system. Our rubber lines are getting old and may be cracking on some cars.

I wanted to replace my rubber lines with braided stainless steel flex lines as I occasionally use the car on road racing tracks. Goodridge showed a listing for the car but when it came down to ordering, they did not have parts and had no design data to make them. If anyone knows another source, please advise.

If they are not available, I am an automotive engineer and am considering reproducing the brake lines. How many of you other owners might be interested in new, reproduction brake lines with braided stainless flexible sections? I do not have a projected price yet so if you could indicate an approximate amount that you would consider paying, I can determine whether we can produce them for a price you consider fair. Also, the more interest, the lower we can make the price as volume affects pricing.

You can respond to the posting or directly to my e-mail address: klfischer-satcar@msn.com.

Thank you for any interest.

Kern Fischer

I think this is a good idea. There are several ways that a person can go about getting steel braided lines for our cars and making something work, but to have something offered that is drop-in guaranteed to fit would be very nice. I will need a couple sets over time. I think about $100 is typical for a complete set. Yes, no?

I paid for braided lines to 3 different places and got refunded from everyone because they cannot even be made( I was told) I ended up ordering a set of rubber ones from rockauto.com. If you find a source for braided fill us in I gave up the search after about 3 weeks.
Alan

To: jordansypek