i know its like beating a dead horse, but please help me figure out my brake problem

mhays806

first off, im new to the mn12 scene and ive only had my 93 cougar for a short time. ive searched here and on tccoa, but i cant seem to determine quite what my problem is. for the past few weeks my brakes have been horrible. im hoping they just need to be bled but im not sure.

here goes, when i push the pedal down i can hear air. the pedal goes down really far and then is hard. sometimes a pump will help a little but not much. if i stand on them i get nothing and they lock up and i slide. its getting really scary.

also, occasionally the ABS light will flash quickly but it doesnt happen often and it goes right out. sometimes the car will pull to the left also. im hoping im just really dense and this is something simple. anyone have ideas? much appreciated

thanks,
Mark

i've had 3 major experiences with SC brake problems for the Teves II system;

1. replace the accumulator (if it has never been replaced). if this is not holding enough pressure it will trigger the abs light and cause the brake pedal to soften and go to the floor.

2. either clean or replace the switch mechanism that is hooked up to your ignition key barrel. the internal contacts get dirty or loose which causes a myrad of brake issues and causing the abs/brake lights to flash.

3. get the air out of your brake lines (bleed them properly). be VERY careful doing this. And make sure you don't have a frozen caliper.

assuming your hydraulic pump assembly is healthy and your brake pressure switch is working, if you do the things above, you will have trouble free brake operation. I did these things and haven't looked back since. It's not expensive to do these things either. Others will give their opinions, but i tell you i had a very hard time figuring this out- but when i did it worked for me. i did this for the two SC's i owned and got the same results every time.