Gear Lube question

I use 80W90 hypoid gear oil with 4oz of friction modifier (around $5 from Ford) since I have Traction-Lok.

Most of the Ford vehicles from the mid-90s on are now using synthetic 75W140 gear lube. At the last Ford Canada Parts & Service meeting I attended, the engineers were recommending to use that fluid in all of the RWD Ford vehicles, regardless of the original fluid spec.

I've been using it in my car for several years, ever since we replaced the Traction-Lock clutch packs. Ford had issued a service bulletin with updated clutch packs to reduce a chattering problem, and that TSB stated to use the 75W140 synthetic fluid as well.

cheers,
Ed N.

fast Ed N said:
Most of the Ford vehicles from the mid-90s on are now using synthetic 75W140 gear lube. At the last Ford Canada Parts & Service meeting I attended, the engineers were recommending to use that fluid in all of the RWD Ford vehicles, regardless of the original fluid spec.

I've been using it in my car for several years, ever since we replaced the Traction-Lock clutch packs. Ford had issued a service bulletin with updated clutch packs to reduce a chattering problem, and that TSB stated to use the 75W140 synthetic fluid as well.

cheers,
Ed N.
So should we use 75W140 synthetic fluid even without the updated clutch packs and do we need to add the friction modifier?

fast Ed N said:

cheers,
Ed N.

That is funny you should say this as I just changed mine over to the 75w140 synthetic fluid from Motorcraft two days ago. The rear end is quiter, no chatter, runs cooler as well! I added 1/2 of the 4 oz tube just for kicks!

unclenick said:
That is funny you should say this as I just changed mine over to the 75w140 synthetic fluid from Motorcraft two days ago. The rear end is quiter, no chatter, runs cooler as well! I added 1/2 of the 4 oz tube just for kicks!

How can you tell that the rear end is running cooler? Just curious.

-Rod

J.D. said: