Centerforce Clutches

NY90RedSC

I have a couple questions about the Centerforce brand of clutches. First, how durable are these clutches? Are they a decent repalcement for the worn out stock clutches that come in the SC's? How touchy are these clutches when they're installed? :confused:
I ask this because a SC in this area has a Centerforce clutch installed and it is wicked touchy. I'm wondering if there are any adjustments that you can make to these clutches to make them easier to shift. Also, what would make a new clutch chatter slightly when releasing the clutch? It doesn't do it in cold weather as much as warm according to ther owner.
Any insight anyone can give me regarding the clutch issue would be greatly appreciated! Like I said before, I'm new to these cars and don't want to take a chance at picking up a car that is going to need major work done right off. :eek:

I bought a car that had a centerforce clutch. It had grenaded @ 15k all the frictions were broke off and car would not move. Go with the luk. It lasted how long in your car?

No, this clutch setup is currently in a car I am looking at possibly purchasing. I am just wondering about the adjustability of these clutches in the car as well as their durability. This car is a bitch to shift, especially in reverse. :eek:

CF 30 slips if you abuse it so does the 60%, 90% I would try taking off the part that makes a Centerforce a Centerforce, those weight thingys, doesnt feel linear with them, to adjust it you bleed the slave cylinder or just rev the car to 8grand with the e-brake on and slowly release the clutch till you fry it and the ring gear falls off your flywheel

YOU HAVE TO ENGAGE 1ST before throwing it in reverse unless you want to totally ruin the rev blocker :confused:

Last edited:
If it won't go in gear at a stop you could have air or bad fluid in the system not allowing the clutch to fully release. Could also be a bad input bearing or pilot bearing in the crank.