Rebuilding an SC

Pablo2k

I Have a Tbird SC 1990, it runs but i like to rebuild it good.
Staring by the motor tranny and drive... how much money am i looking at?
If i have it done by someone els, buy already rebuild parts or whats best?
anyone know how much it will take to have an sc motor/transmition done to new?

Pablo,

This is too much an open ended question. I am by no means an expert, but you could spend more than 10k if you had some shop do everything to it. How much power do you want to get? Narrow your question down a bit, and I'll bet the experts would be more apt to answer your question.

I think that if you concentrate on the "mission critical" parts that have or are about to wear down (given the age and mileage of these cars), like the following-

all belts
all wheel bearings/hubs
brake rotors/calipers (maybe)
brake accumulator/pressure switch
all upper control arms
motor mounts
fuel pump/fuel filter (really critical)
spark plugs/wires
o2 sensors
harmonic balancer/crank sensor (really critical)
radiator and fan motor (important)
all coolant hoses
starter/starter solenoid/relay
DIS module
cam sensor
steering rack and tie rods
new or rebuilt heads (valve job)
rubber coated multi layered headgaskets (MLS type?)
transmission repairs or replace (maybe)
rear cv joints (maybe)
driveshaft U joints/re-balance or replace driveshaft

I may have missed some parts (assuming the bottom end of the engine is ok), but basically that's what need to be done to have a new, reliable SC.

All this if done in the shop will run close to $7k, but if you do most of the small stuff yourself, i found you can cut it down to less than $4.5k or so. You can probably get away with much less than $4.5k because some of that stuff above may not need to be done right away.

IMO, not bad for a "better than new" speedy car, $7k won't even buy you a decent like new economy car these days.

My 2 cents-

Last edited:
Motor rebuild or more?