Uh oh....here we go again!

X

xThunderbirdSCx

Heres the #1 most asked about subject on this forum. Yep you guessed it. Head Gaskets!
Now im not asking about price or anything, im talking labor. If me (moderatly mechanically inclined) and my uncle (who's worked on engines his whole life) want to swap them out, is it difficult. We have the Haynes manual. I was wondering if the HG replacement is so expensive because of TEDIOUS work (not hard labor, just takes alot of time due to many steps) or is it difficult (experienced and challenging process) to replace them? Also, if i do choose to do them myself, what else should i consider replacing while im down there anyways? Thanks alot guys

I have some experience rebuilding motorcycle engines, but none rebuilding car engines. Once you get the SC/Intake system off and the accesory brackets off, it is a cake walk. If I can do it, then almost anybody can. :D The car runs good now so I must not have screwed it up. Not sure how accurate the Haynes manual is on torque specs, but that is what I used. Don't go cheap and not have your heads checked for cracks. Do have them surfaced! For a little extra they can regrind your valves too. Usually a price for all of it.
Just take your time and don't be afraid to ask questions and you should be able to do it alone, let alone with your uncle.. Good Luck..

Also be sure to install new head bolts or upgrade to a set of reusable ARP head studs. It also very easy to change the motor mounts when all the stuff is off the motor.

If they are originals, they probably need to be replaced.

David

Not that hard

Changing head gaskets is not hard at all really.
Here's some tips;

Mark all of your vacuum hoses prior to tearing the engine apart.
One neat idea is to take a few pictures of the engine just in case you miss something you can get a look on how it was before dissassembly.
You can take the supercharger, TB, and both plenums off in one piece.
Once these are off it doesn't look so scary.