1993 Supercoupe Problems

NYTRIDR

Hi, Im new to car repair and diagnostics so please go easy on the noob.

I live in Sacramento, CA and have been having some issues with my SC. Ive been neglecting my SC for awhile now, having only driven short distances or not at all for the past 3 - 4 months. For the past couple weeks the SC has had some problems starting up in the morning. It starts, but only after turning and holding the key to make it catch. Once it starts, it idles roughly and almost sounds like it will stall as i back out of my driveway. Yesterday, I noticed a lot of white exhaust fumes coming out of the back of my car so I stopped backing out of my driveway and parked it in my garage fearing the worst. I called up my mechanic and he told me I had a leaking head gasket or something like that. On the other hand a friend told me to check my coolant to see if I had oil in there. I did not. He also had me check my dipstick to see if there were any bubbles or foam indicating I had something in my oil. I did not. So my oil and coolant are clean, no oil in the coolant, no coolant or water in the oil. So what is the problem with my SC?

Once again, the problems I experience are: rough idle and lag in acceleration, white exhaust clouds and difficult engine catch on start up.

I have a lot of money into my car. I would replace the engine if that was the only problem. I cant see spending more than $3000 on a 1993 car though.

Please give me some advice. Thank You.

Have your mechanic do a cooling system pressure test to confirm it's the head gaskets. If it is the gaskets it's probably going to cost $1200-$1500 to have a shop do the repairs.

David

PS: It might just be a fouled plug and condensation from the car sitting so long.

yeah, i have a feeling this mechanic might just be trying to rip me off. Like I said, there wasnt oil in my coolant or any foriegn liquid in my oil. He quoted me over the phone $1200 just for the labor.