Noob here...Window Motor

• Thread starter xThunderbirdSCx
  • Start date
X

xThunderbirdSCx

How do i replace the drivers side window motor? Mine acts finicky in warm weather will it will go up in little "fits" like an inch at a time.

The motor itself isnt bad, its the little plastic "balls" inside the gearbox are starting to wear out. I suppose they are there to cushion impact at the end of travel. On my car they hwere kinda rough on one side and completely pulverized on the other. My dad fixed mine by getting an old bolt about the same diameter and slicing into pieces. Substitute them for the balls and it should work fine, but be a little easy when the window gets near the top or bottom of the travel.

Thanks, but how do i actually REMOVE the unit from the door? Ive stripped to door to a point where the panel is off and the lining is off. Now what?

xThunderbirdSCx said:
Thanks, but how do i actually REMOVE the unit from the door? Ive stripped to door to a point where the panel is off and the lining is off. Now what?
Look in the middle of door - There you will find three 8mm bolt heads (They are recessed) remove the bolts and reach in where your speaker is (Remove that also) And pull out the motor.. Disconnect the wire clip.. Remove the "C" clip on the gear of the window motor. and there is a small allen head bolt also. Remove that. and the gear assy will pull out of the case. Replace plastic bearings. install in reverse order..
Hope that helps

Tony63
90 SC
91 5.0l
94 3.8 LX
90 Jeep 3.5 in lift
70 Mustang..

Are you sure the motor isn't riveted to the door frame?
I am awaiting the plastic regulator parts from www.mn12performance.com so I can do this and had my panel off and looks like the motor is riveted not bolted.

BobGPz said:
Are you sure the motor isn't riveted to the door frame?
I am awaiting the plastic regulator parts from www.mn12performance.com so I can do this and had my panel off and looks like the motor is riveted not bolted.