jeep question...

crzykyman

hey all, looking at a 98 jeep wrangler 4 cyl... 5 speed.. anyone know if they are known to have problems??? its 6K dollars.. is that too much??? thanks.

I remember looking at those a while ago before I bought my Golf. What I noticed is that so many of them have been thrashed on really bad. The 4 cylinders are gutless and the softtop basically does nothing to insulate.
I'm not an expert but that's just what I've seen. But the ones with the 4.0: I-6 move real quick and those are pretty good engines.

I had a 1997 brand new before I got the SC. It was the biggest POS I have ever owned, including the $100 cars I had in college.

The 4.0L 6Cyl is gutless as well. I had a 5-speed sport with that engine. 80 MPH was the top speed, although anything over 50MPH you couldn't hear the radio over the wind noise anyway. My mind was made to trade it after I got beat in a drag race by three carpenters in a loaded up cube van, complete with stepladders tied to the roof. You don't get much slower than that.

Poor gas mileage too. I would hope you get one or the other, good MPG, or MPH, this thing got neither.

As far as the winter I'd rather drive my SC in the snow any day. Traction was good taking off, but if a cat farted in your general direction you would spin out. I went off the road in that thing more than all the rest of the vehicles I have owned put together.

I wont get into all the other defects and design flaws, let alone the worst customer service from any dealer ever.

Gutless 4.0?

Where did you come up with that figure of 80mph top speed????

I have had My Wrangler to about 105 So they deffinately do more then 80

Stay away from the 4cyl they are weak

that is oveer priced for a 4cyl wrangler

Hes right about the wind noise this is why Jeep offers a sound bar which locates a set of speakers up on the rool bar just behind the seats
This cures the noise issue with not being able to hear the stereo

The Jeeps have their tradeoffs