Want to free up exhaust- need advice!

scbird94

I have a 94 5spd and would like to do a 5% od and a js pulley, as well as an inlet plenum and a cai and 3.55's, but i want to free up my exhaust first. Im kinda new with with exhaust, havent had much experience in that area... basically, i want to free it up. i dont care too much about sound, i like to hear the supercharger and most 3.8's that i hear with exhaust sound to tinny for my taste- so unless i can make it sound like a throaty v8, i would prefer it quiet.

Im looking to spend as little as possible, with the most gains possible. Should i go with a flowmaster cat-back, magnaflow, or just delete the cats altogether? I honestly dont know... What can i do to eliminate the choking effect of our stock exhaust?

I can do alot of the work myself i have a hoist at work i can use as well as access to all the tools i can imagine, so all i need is pretty much a parts list and im ready to proceed

Dylan Roth
St. Cloud, MN

want to free up exhaust

The most benificial and cheapest would probally be porting the exhaust manifolds, and if u dont care about the sound then u can go wiht just about any aftermarket cat back system, there all better than our original, shop around get the best price.

go to texasthunderbirds.com and look at the downtubes, i got a set and they fit on perfect. If you have access, a regular old die grinder can take the "lip" off the inside of the exhaust manifolds. This helps a TON. i just ran myn into a magnaflow resonator. It's loud, but i like it lol. cost a total of round 200$ and helped quite a bit, especially w the 5% pully