The goose is loose.

molson

Newbie here. I've searched the forums about this problem since it first started. I just need things to be loud and clear for me, considering I'm quite the newbie with my SC.

About five months ago I noticed an odd honking noise coming from under the hood everytime the car was idle. It always occured when the car was under 1k rpm. Now things have changed a bit. Everytime I start the car the idle jumps to 2k rpm, after about 30 seconds it will drop down to 1500 rpm, then down to 1k rpm. This also happens everytime the car idles and the honk is much louder now than ever.

So, from what I've read on the forums, it seems I have a couple possibilities here? Replace the IAC, is that it? Check for vaccuum leaks? Something about a torn seal in an "air control valve"?

Any help would be much appreciated, thanks.

molson said:
Replace the IAC, is that it? Check for vaccuum leaks? Something about a torn seal in an "air control valve"?
Its the IAC. The seal can't be repaired and only a motorcraft style IAC will work. The aftermarket one with the extra cable will not work and can't be made to work.

Yes...the IAC valve (idle air control valve) is the problem. It the black sensor thats mounted sideways on the throttle body.

David

Hah! Thanks for the input guys, much appreciated!

Now I just have to wait till payday. :mad:

Last couple of question

I found this pic in one of the IAC related threads. If I'm looking at this correctly, I have to remove the top of the charger and the upper intercooler tube as one piece, just to get the IAC out? Any surprises possible? Doesn't the top half of the charger require some sort of seal? If it does any recommendations on how to break the seal? Anywhere I can get it? Napa? Schucks? Dealership?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm a true newb. :(

I promise to join the club, once my car is worth mentioning, lol!

Ps - Or is that pic just throwing me way off the trail?

Attachments

• iac.JPG
    iac.JPG