Leaking Brake fluid & Car Smoking

Falyniii

Okay, I have a 1990 TBSC and its been leaking brake fluid for about 2 or months. But it started leaking so bad that I'd have white smoke coming from under the hood everytime id stop at a light. So I took it to the shop and he says i have a bad master cylinder. It was leaking so i let him replace it. The leakin stopped for a month. But now its back and smoking at the light again. It even ran completely out of brake fliud while i was on highway :eek: (VERY SCARY MOMENT) I had take it back to the shop and he says its leaking from some sensor. (i forgot which one he said. think it was ABS Sensor) So he says its cost 300 for the sensor plus labor charges. B4 I give this guy my money is there anything else i can do. How do i check for the leak. Just pump the brake and get under the car and search? Is the sensor really 300 dollars? Is there anything i can tighten to make sure theres not just something loose? How do i know its not the accumulator?

Im not the brightest when it come to fixing cars but i have no problem trying to fix them or learning how to. Any and all helpis greatly appreciated.

its either leaking from the ARC SENSOR... the one that sends a signal to the SHOCKS to FIRM UP when braking hard or probably the pressure switch... or the accumulator... u have to start the car and have someone pump the brake pedal while u look for the leak. then when you find it come back and let us know and we can give u some answers so it wont cost so much to fix....

Mine leaked because the hose from the resevoir to the pump actually split. I replaced the hose and the brakes work fine. I wasn't able to find an exact replacement, but I did find a 2 part hose the is brake fluid resistant on the inside. It seems to be holding up fine. The hose was made by Gates, but I don't have the part number.