351 engines-Windsor, Cleveland, Modified, what are the differences?

im not an expert but the windsdor is in the 302 class the clevland is from the 335 class. the clevland has way bigger heads but crappy oil situation. from waht i hear the clevland is one of the best engines ever made. i have my eye set on one. but the windsor is cheaper and has parts more readly avaible

351 W has larger bearing journals and smaller ports making it a better truck engine and more emissions friendly than the 351 C.

The 351C was an excellent performance engine whereas the 351W was better suited to station wagons and trucks.

The 351C was used in Australia (go figure) after it was discontinued in the US in 1973.

In 1971 there was a larger version of the 351C made. It became known as the 400M. Basically it was just a taller block with the same design heads and larger bearings. The 351M shared the same larger block as the 400M and both were pretty much boat anchors.

Now anymore both Ford and the aftermarket offer 351C style heads or straight up better flowing Windsor heads making the 351W a good performer. Serious race applications will still use a Cleveland style crank with the smaller bearings. The Windsor style bearings are not suitable for high rpm use.

i think the 351 w will bolt into what a 302 fit like mustangs the intake is about an inch wider than 302 and the oil pan is different

My 2 cents.

As indicated, the 351 is basically the same as the 302. The bore is esentially the same but stroke is longer which moves the heads up by something on the order of 1.9 inches and out making it wider. So, the 351w can use many 302 parts (heads, cam, etc) the intake mainfold is wider so that is not interchangable. It will bolt in place of a 302. Plenty of speed parts at reasonable price, very durable.