PDA

View Full Version : 351 engines-Windsor, Cleveland, Modified, what are the differences?

Jake
06-08-2005, 07:50 PM
Just need the basic differences.
Thanks.

midgetchaser
06-08-2005, 07:55 PM
im not an expert but the windsdor is in the 302 class the clevland is from the 335 class. the clevland has way bigger heads but crappy oil situation. from waht i hear the clevland is one of the best engines ever made. i have my eye set on one. but the windsor is cheaper and has parts more readly avaible

midgetchaser
06-08-2005, 08:01 PM
i woudl actually like to know more about it if anyone has any imput

Mike8675309
06-08-2005, 08:23 PM
Here is some cleveland info:
http://www.boss351registry.com/351_Cleveland.htm

The windsor is a much more popular motor as many more were built. My dad's 76 Tbird had the 351 Windsor in it. Parts for it are much more plentiful and the 351 Cleveland is known for having a bottom end that is it's achilies heal.

Here is some info on the M/Cleveland as well.
http://www.fordcobraengines.com/Modified%20History.htm

XR7 Dave
06-08-2005, 09:23 PM
351 W has larger bearing journals and smaller ports making it a better truck engine and more emissions friendly than the 351 C.

The 351C was an excellent performance engine whereas the 351W was better suited to station wagons and trucks.

The 351C was used in Australia (go figure) after it was discontinued in the US in 1973.

In 1971 there was a larger version of the 351C made. It became known as the 400M. Basically it was just a taller block with the same design heads and larger bearings. The 351M shared the same larger block as the 400M and both were pretty much boat anchors.

Now anymore both Ford and the aftermarket offer 351C style heads or straight up better flowing Windsor heads making the 351W a good performer. Serious race applications will still use a Cleveland style crank with the smaller bearings. The Windsor style bearings are not suitable for high rpm use.

rlong
06-08-2005, 11:00 PM