What now?

SCjanerun

I've been psyching myself up for weeks to do valve cover gaskets on my 89 SC. I read all your posts and printed them and have been carrying them and pics of my engine around like I'm studying for some sort of test. Well I finally convinced myself I could do it. I'm on vacation from work this week and since book time to do the job is over 5 hrs. I figured this would give me plenty of time should something go wrong. And you all know it will. And, well.....it did. I was trying to loosen a nut, and just heard a snap. How could I have broken it? I'm a chick. It's not like I have brute strength. I don't even know what "it" is :confused: All I know is it looks fatal. Whatever it is, it's done. My question to all of you is: What the heck did I break? I had to take it off to get to the valve cover. My second question is: Now what? OK. Maybe a third question...where's the crying smiley? ;(
Thanks in advance for all of your opinions/suggestions.

Jane

OK..all you guys who are laughing at me...I deserve it. Can you say Lefty loosey, righty tighty. Yes, as my dad pointed out to me today, I was tightening, not loosening. So, onward and upward. I still think I have more courage than most to do my own work, especially on an SC. So now I'll figure out what exactly has to be done to the return plenum (is it aluminum?) and go from there. Thanks to all for your replies. Now, all I need is some encouragement to go finish the valve cover job I started. Any bets on what I destroy next?!

Attachments

• oops.jpg
    oops.jpg
    96.1 KB · Views: 263
  • oops2.jpg
    oops2.jpg
    107.6 KB · Views: 219
Last edited:
SCjanerun said: