Detonation under boost!?!

Danzajax

My car was running great when i parked it for 2 days. When i started it back up it loped a little and then ran normal. I noticed when i went beyond atmospheric pressure it started to miss and what i eventually decided was pre-ignition. The fuel in the tank was fresh 92 when i parked it. The car went from running good to **** pretty much over night. The odd part though is its only under boost that it has the problems.

Any sugguestions? Its not too hot here (Minneapolis) right now and it definately not much different than 2 days ago. Im currently driving around trying to run the fuel out of it (out of a suspecion that maybe something has happened to the fuel.)

(3 weeks ago i replaced my wireset and plugs, 2 Weeks ago my Ignition mod went, last week my window was smahed out and my radio was stolen, and now this :mad: )

Any help would be appreciated. (As im an intern here with almost no friends out here and very much in trouble if my car is DOA)
:confused:

-=dan=-

Check your wires again. You might think it's knocking but it just mayt be a loose plug wire.

Jeff

ill try that, i had a shop go over it while it was in for the Ignition module. Woudlnt a loose plug wire show up under all pressures, not just when entering boost?

-=dan=-

your problem sounds like a bad plug or wire , but my 89 has colder plugs and colder thermostat and good exhaust and i can run regular gas and it wont ping , my all stock 90 pings on regular gas

Danzajax said:
ill try that, i had a shop go over it while it was in for the Ignition module. Woudlnt a loose plug wire show up under all pressures, not just when entering boost?

-=dan=-

Not always, but if it's the slightest bit loose then it takes a lot more energy under boost than NA mode.

Jeff