Elcctrical Short's got me Stumped

Silverstreak89

My battery died ('89 SC) and had to boost it-the car started and ran then died and the battery area started smoking. One of the bigger wires burnt through right at the starter relay (positive connection). I fixed the wire, got a new battery and found that a bunch of stuff isn't working (radio (lcd comes on and you can tune it but no sound, power door locks and seats, tail/brake lights, high beams). Checked all the fuses and found the following burnt out:
1. in the under hood panel-Cavity C - protects the fuse panel - not sure what "fuse panel" means - the under dash panel? what components)
2. under dash panel-Cavity 16- rear park and license lamps, Cavity 17 - LCD illumination Relay (anyone know what what/where this is), Chime, front park lamps).
I replaced all those fuses and Cavity C and 17 burnt out again. Tried to find the short (I'm a real novice on this) - I measured 12.5V across Cavity C (don't know if this should be the case). Disconnected the battery and tested for continuity across Cavity C while disconnecting wire harnesses inside the car under dash all the way to rear end - continuity always present.

I've spent about 10 hours on this and before sending it to the shop was wondering if anyone has some ideas. Thanks.

Check the Relay and fuse panel under the hood. Also check the fusable links that connect to the starter relay. They may not looked burned. Use a meter.

Jeff

If the fusible links were burnt-out, some things wouldn't work but if the links were burned why would the new fuses in Cavity C and 17 burn out?

Silverstreak89 said:
If the fusible links were burnt-out, some things wouldn't work but if the links were burned why would the new fuses in Cavity C and 17 burn out?