Timing adjustment??

Lintlars

Hi I am new to the super coupe world Im actually working on a friends car and hes got alot of mods larger injectors,fuel pump,intake exhaust the intake housing ,headers,AFPR Hes getting alot of pinging under moderate throttle but goes away after 4000rpmish I know that it says that the timing is not adjustable but I was wondering if theres anyway to take away some timing I took away some fuel the Fuel pressure was set at 50 idle and 70 under WOT I turned it back to 35 idle and 50 WOT and the AFR are now at 11.7 under WOT But is still pings just a bit is there anyway to even check the timing to make sure it is set right?? Thanks for your time I am using the LM-1 to take AFR measurments One more thing it runs very hot you can not even touch the super charger intake after 10 min of flogging is this normal??

Oh ya I did search but came up with nothing.

Last edited:
The only thing I know of is the fuel. Someone else will have to help you from there. What octane are you running? When I 1st bought my SC I ran regular. Then I found out about the super requirement. If you're running the regular unleaded, 1st try high octane, then go from there. Good luck.

AlanEdwards said:
The only thing I know of is the fuel. Someone else will have to help you from there. What octane are you running? When I 1st bought my SC I ran regular. Then I found out about the super requirement. If you're running the regular unleaded, 1st try high octane, then go from there. Good luck.

We have tried 92 octane with NOS brand octane boost but still have the same problem I run this same combo in my Supra at 20psi and works great so theres some other issues that we have to work out here. When we first started his timing was out 180 deg it ran like crap ping all the time its better now but not quite 100%