AC conversion

MiJBV1990SC

Hello To All!!

I JUST got a 91 SC :) and am a complete Newbie to these cars. The car needs to have the AC recharged. This Requires a conversion from the old system (r12 I think) To the New (r134 or somthing) am I right on this??? If so how complicated is this and how costly? Better to have a dealer do it?? Thanks for your help.

MiJBV1990SC said:
Hello To All!!

I JUST got a 91 SC :) and am a complete Newbie to these cars. The car needs to have the AC recharged. This Requires a conversion from the old system (r12 I think). To the New (r134 or somthing) am I right on this??? If so how complicated is this and how costly? Better to have a dealer do it?? Thanks for your help.
You can still get the R12 refilled at some places but it is very expensive. Around $5 per ounce last I checked and you need 42 oz. I think. Most places will convert it to R134 which will be cheaper in the long run. I was quoted $200 at one place before I decided to ditch my AC altogether. You should have it serviced by a shop and have the evaporator canister replaced as well as new seals and O- rings. Otherwise you run the risk of having leaks with the R134.

I went to napa and bought the cheap kit to convert to 134 and had no problems except for finding out the condenser had a leak in it and thats why it stopped working, but the air worked for awhile

defect said:
I went to napa and bought the cheap kit to convert to 134 and had no problems except for finding out the condenser had a leak in it and thats why it stopped working, but the air worked for awhile
This is why I try to discourage people from using the store kits. What you just described happens quite a lot. When/if you decide to repair it again, it will cost more than it would have. I'd suggest reading up on the topic and then making your choice about how to proceed.