Working with Dad

SCrazy

SCCoA Member
How many people work on their cars with their father/son?

I'm 36 year old and spend quite a bit of time working on the car with my father who's 58 BUT we often fight like dogs (mostly in a good natured way). He is a throw it together then tweak it kind of guy and I'm an engineer so I plan it out and try to do it right the first time. Needless to say my style frustrates him and his infuriates me when things don't go right.

This past weekend Dad cut the molded carpet in my trunk to fit around my newly finished fuel cell. He laid the carpet in and to my horror began cutting it freehand. Needless to say it got hacked all to hell. He's a machinist and a perfectionist so I know he was upset with himself but I was really pissed.

Any other stories out there?

Sounds Like a Good Idea for a TV Show

No wait there is aleady one like that only they build bikes

First project for my dad and me was body work and a new clutch for my first car, a 1965 Corvair.

Last thing we worked on was Labor Day. I helped him put a new clutch in his 1992 Geo Metro. It's a three cylinder motor that get's 45mpg every day of the week. We used his Oliver Tractor's bucket overhead with a come-a-long to lift the engine and tranaxle out of the car. Swapped the clutch, bolted it back together and dropped it into place. Took about 6 hours total and a jump from my SC and it was back on the road.