How much power gain can be expected from the following..

Jacob_Royer

SCCoA Member
1 Removed air silencer
2 K&N Cone filter in the fenderwell.
3 I/C fan
4 Removed cats

And with these mods should i just go ahead and pickup a 5% pulley too?

Ditching the cats will help your exhaust to flow better but your resinator is still the main restriction. So I say no 5% til you've really opened up your exhaust or like blown head gaskets like I have.
Of the stuff you've done I'd think no more than 10rwhp, most of that would be comming from your IC fan.

Ok so basicly ditching the cats will not do as much as doing somthing with the resonator? I've yet to do anything to the exhaust i am just trying to figure out what to do to it.. I don't want somthing anoying loud inside the car.. What if i keep the cats and get a highflow resonator or? i have a 3" in 3" out flowmaster 1 chamber laying around what about putting that inplace of the resonator and keeping the cats for now? wouldnt that free up the exhaust and not really make it much louder?

When I replace my resonator....I could definately tell the difference. Then I put on a 5% pulley and again I could tell the difference. One of my rear mufflers was bad so I replaced them also. I couldn't tell the difference in power, but I did get a increase in exhaust note.

A tune up and a resonator should always be the first mods to a SC IMO.

Michael

Look at my mods on my member page. I dynoed 231 RWHP and 344 lbft torque before I ditched my cats. That was above 5000ft. elevation.I did my flowmaster exhaust and went from a 5% to 12% pulley and dropped 1/2 sec from my quarter mile. That was the biggest increase out of all my mods. I just ditched my cats and my exhaust is too loud. The flowmaster system sounded great before I ditched the cats. I noticed no improvement at the track with no cats other than more consistent times.