PDA

View Full Version : Tie Rod Install



91ScDrIvEr
10-04-2005, 04:30 PM
A wile ago i stated that i needed a tie rod for my car. Well i jacked up the car and it seems to be the inner tie rod in the rack how easy is it to change? is there steps i should take?

Joisey Jim
10-04-2005, 06:24 PM
You basically need the special tool to fit Ford inner tie rods. You can get them at places like PepBoys - it's just a long hollow tube that fits over the tie rod and allows you to disconnect the inner fitting.

TbirdSCFan
10-05-2005, 01:29 PM
And then you need the special tool that fits over the new tie-rod so that you can torque it to the proper specs. :rolleyes: I thought this would be simple; didn't know I'd be stocking up on single use tools :rolleyes:

Joisey Jim
10-05-2005, 01:41 PM
Owning an SC means you'll have a garage full of single use tools and technical articles. I'm now up to 5# - 3" plastic binders on my garage shelf; everything from Brake mods to wheel options. Get used to it.

91ScDrIvEr
10-06-2005, 11:51 PM
thanx guys but i think i might just put a hole new rack on i did one of thos before. EASIER