overheated engine issues for this teen

marebear82189

I just purchased a '90 SC that had an engine not running because it was run without coolant. The engine was extremely difficult to turn over and squealed when trying to get it to turn over(like metal on metal squealing).
The engine is now apart and both head gaskets were bad but the heads are not warped at all. The engine can be turned over by hand with the heads off though.
Any suggestions on what else should I check before reassembling with new head gaskets? pistons? bearings? Has anyone else had this experience that could offer some tips?
The radiator supposedly leaked, is a recore a good idea?
Also, are there any good books on engine repairs for SCs, such as repair manuals that are well explained?

P.S. I am a new SC owner so I am somewhat new at all of this so if there are any unclear questions that I asked, please tell me. I finally got my license and am anxious to get my first car up and running!!!!

i would try to ask the previous owner if it had any rods knocking last time it ran , if it did it will prob need a crank and a new rod, when my headgasket went it started getting warm over half on the guage so i shut it off and coasted home . it had water in the oil but i only ran it maybe 3 miles , that was around 207k miles , i just bought 2 felpro headgaskets about 20 bucks a piece and an intake gasket about 36 bucks and changed oil 2 or 3 times , its still runing fine

Last edited: