PDA

View Full Version : a/c eliminator



ashell81
11-07-2005, 09:15 AM
Does anyone know where i can find an a/c eliminator for my sc??????

wisupercoupe
11-07-2005, 09:54 AM
Does anyone know where i can find an a/c eliminator for my sc??????

reroute the belt. Or I have an F-150 bracket that needs a little modding sitting in my garage.

TbirdSCFan
11-07-2005, 12:59 PM
Why? Removing the A/C compressor saves a few pounds in weight and opens up the engine compartment a bit, but otherwise provides no performance benefit. The pulley is free spinning unless the A/C is turned on. Take the large serpentine belt off and spin it by hand to see. :)

Randy N Connie
11-07-2005, 03:47 PM
I would just reroute a shorter belt.

When I removed mine ,there was a
gain in gas mileage & HP power,
The gain is small but it is there.

And with the compressor removed
the motor is much easer to work on.

The biggest plus was when I remove
the condinsor in front of the radiator.
My motor temps dropped in half.


Randy

ThunderCoupe
11-08-2005, 07:33 PM
anyone have any clue as to what size this rerouted belt should be?

91_SC_BIRD
11-08-2005, 09:25 PM
I have the shorter belt, I would have to take a look to check the lenght.

rzimmerl
11-08-2005, 10:31 PM
i think it might be a 54" belt, do a search it will come up

91_SC_BIRD
11-08-2005, 10:53 PM
I have Dayco 5080550 Belt

90XR7Cougar5spd
11-08-2005, 11:58 PM
I have Dayco 5080550 Belt


That would be a 55 inch belt

Ryan A Harris
11-09-2005, 01:53 PM
I have the shorter belt, I would have to take a look to check the lenght.


Nice intake man......(relax, he knows I'm joking)


Re-routing with a shorter belt is the cheapest way to lose the A/C. Easy to work on, drop a few LBS, and cooler temps. Those are all pluses, but the down side. On a rainy day in summer, it gets hot your car, and it fogs up.

Good luck.

Jeremy_K
11-09-2005, 05:36 PM
If a 55" is hard to find (it was for me), you can use a 56" as well.

Jeremy_K
11-09-2005, 05:38 PM
I have the shorter belt, I would have to take a look to check the lenght.
How did you get the tension to reverse without cutting off the stop tab on the front??? :confused:

91_SC_BIRD
11-09-2005, 07:24 PM
How did you get the tension to reverse without cutting off the stop tab on the front??? :confused:

I did the AC delete when swapping the engine, and I did read that I had to cut the tab off. Since the engine was out of the car when it was done, I was worried about cutting it without tension on it. So what we did is, with put the belt on, used a wrench on the idler to pull it up, and then tighten the bolt with an impact. I've done around 10 000 km with this setup and tension is still good.

Jeremy_K
11-09-2005, 07:56 PM
I did the AC delete when swapping the engine, and I did read that I had to cut the tab off. Since the engine was out of the car when it was done, I was worried about cutting it without tension on it. So what we did is, with put the belt on, used a wrench on the idler to pull it up, and then tighten the bolt with an impact. I've done around 10 000 km with this setup and tension is still good.
OK so it doesn't have spring tension on it then. I did mine the same way using a NA V6 tbird idler because my stock tensioner was letting the belt squeal at higher RPMs.

91_SC_BIRD
11-09-2005, 08:00 PM
OK so it doesn't have spring tension on it then. I did mine the same way using a NA V6 tbird idler because my stock tensioner was letting the belt squeal at higher RPMs.

Thats right, its no longer an auto tensionner. Are there any downsides to this? Other then checking for proper tension from time to time.

Jeremy_K
11-10-2005, 12:38 AM
I've been running mine like that for almost a year checking on it whenever I'm under the hood and it hasn't budged a bit.