how do you know when your over-heating?

bigcletus94

My engine seems to be running hot. Or at least hotter than it did with my old engine, but not a lot more.

The temp gauge will climb all the way up to the M in norM. I would assume this means its over heating? Am I correct or not?

The old motor would go up to about the O and sometimes the M. This just doesnt seem right considering I have a 180 degree Robertshaw T-stat now and its running hotter.

It still runs hot even with the Max A/C on all the time. It just takes it longer to get all the way to the M but it ALWAYS does. Especially when I get on the freeway. It climbs fast even though the engine RPM's are about the same. It seems if I go over 45 MPH or into O/D, it gets hot fast. Then when I get off of the freeway, it cools down usually. If I just drive in the city and keep the Max A/C on, the needle stays below the below the N in Norm for a long time. It will idle there for a very long time too.

I just got done boiling my 180 degree thermostat(was currently in the car) and a 197(brand new never used) from Ford. They both open and the 180 definately allows for more water to pass through where the 197 as a much smaller water passage way. I also thought my Thermostat was in backwards, it was not.

Since my thermostat is good, what else could be causing the thing to get so hot? I have a new motor, new water pump, new radiator and also the new t-stat.

I took off the exhaust and checked the cats to see if they were clogged. As far as I could tell, they are not. I blew some air through them and felt it on the other side pretty well.

Any suggestions? I dont want to blow my new motor up like the last one. I am pretty sure the original motor spun the main berings because it ran too hot consistantly. Thanks for any help.