A couple issues with my new SC

repoman27

Hey all,
First of all let me say I am new to owning a super charged vehicle as well as to this forum. I've been looking over things on here and can't believe the amounts of information I can find. Here are the basics. I have a 1989 SC 5spd with 167K miles. I have no idea whats been done to the car other than I just had a clutch put in it. I traded my 86 TC for the SC and $800 due to the fact that the SC needed a clutch and my TC was running. The guy I got the car from towed it in off the side of the road for the Sheriff's department and it was never claimed. It sat at his lot for about a year prior to him getting the legal paperwork to sell it. The first thing that concerns me is the speedo. I know these are fast cars but it seems like it takes no time to get to 85-90 mph. Also, in my daily commute where I usually run about 75 and keeping up with traffic, I will be getting past at 75 in the SC. In order to keep up with traffic its pushing 90 and at only about 2100rpm. Is there any way for me to check the accuracy? More importantly its getting terrible gas mileage. I figured it up to about 10.67mpg and I don't get on it much at all. The check engine light comes on and off periodically but I never smell anything funny, nor does the car seem to run bad or miss. I know the fuel gauge is pretty accurate from my recent 4 mile hike to the nearest gas station. Where should I begin? I have a couple more little things like my wipers don't work and my heat is tempermentle but Im more worried about the gas mileage right now as I commute 27 miles each way to work and this car is killing me. I thouroughly love the car and as much as I hate to think it, if I can't get the mileage up somewhat Im gonna have to park it and find another TC. Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited:
The reply most common to the fuel issue I see is goto Auto Zone and get some codes....
The speedo may be from a car with a taller rear gear.