Weird starting issue

blue72super

I am new to Super Coupes and am having trouble getting mine running. I bought it last week and the previous owner primed it with gas in the throttle body to get it to start. Once you do that it will run but it seems to run real rich.
It is stock as far as I know. I replaced the fuel pressure regulator, cleaned the injectors, and checked and could not find any vacuum leaks. The Spark plugs were covered in black soot, and I put a new set in. It will run once primed off and it still runs rich.
Thanks in advance for any help.
Clark

Get a fuel pressure gauge and check to see what pressure you have. Also, change out the plugs and wires. It may be a weak ignition or a weak fuel pump or a combination of both.

Gotta start with guages and tools on these cars. Get a fuel pressure reading, see if your fuel pump is doing the 1 second run when the ignition is placed on. Any other method of troubleshooting on these cars gets really expensive fast:)

On a related note, I bought a 93LX for 100 bucks that would only run when primed and ran like dog snot and wouldnt stay running. It had a blown head gasket. Might want to do a compression check while your changing plugs just to be sure of your pressures.

codes??

have you tried to get any codes?
good place to start use a code reader or , if you can find an analog volt meter and a cheap haynes service manual, it will explain how to get the codes the cheap way .

I already put in a new set of spark plugs and replaced both O2 sensors. The water temp sensor on the right head was broken, so it is new as well. I checked the fuel pressure this morning and it is running 40 with the key in run and while the engine is cranking.
Clark

Everyone always forgets to look at the idle air control valve. Get one at Ford or Advance Auto. Ones sold elsewhere won't work on the SC.