Help, Serpentine belt riding off upper tension pulley a bit: UPDATE

onEdge24

Ok 1990 SC Automatic. My serpentine belt is riding lil less than 1/4 inch off the upper tension pulley and its tearing up the belt. New belt is on there sicne last one shredded. I checked the pulleys and its riding fine in the grooves as far as I can tell. My lower belt shredded at same time (not the SC belt but the other one at the bottom on the passenger side). Sorry if I am not using the correct terminology, but I'm not the most mechanically inclined person around. I just had the car in to replace a cracked oil pan and since then ive notcied this issue, no idea if it was doing this before the pan replacement.

First off, what are some causes for this to happen and how can I diagnose them. I played with all the pulleys and I cant feel and play in them, but who knows, I'm an amateur. Could this be a result of something from the shop replacing my oil pan? I know they have to do alot to get to that pan. Any and all advice appreciated greatly, thanks in advance :)

Onedge24
AKA chris
College Station, TX

Last edited:
I just had the same thing this weekend :mad: I changed all the belts, but the big one (serpetine?), is indeed a bit off the upper tension pulley. This is only when the engine is running!

Besides that, the hose to the engine came off. I could not mount it back with that retarted squeeze spring. With tie-rips its holding now. I suspected that the loose hose, had ripped the belt. But I could not see any damaging to the hose (wich should be there, if it ripped that belt apart).

Also the belt on the alternator is to close and a lil. over the alternator pulley edge :eek: