fmic

nickleman60

what's the advantage or disadvantage of going with 2.5" inlet,outlet or 3" inlet,outlet?i've been looking at fabbing up my own and have found i/c's in both sizes in my price range.

i know alot of you have put together your own setup so please give me some imput.i plan on centering up the radiator in the middle so that i have about a 5" gap on either side of it.that'll make it easy to plum the inlet and outlet of the i/c.by the way i deleted all the ac stuff.the i/c i'm probably going to get is overall 28"x 12.4"x3.75" and claims it flows 1200cfm.it's made for an evo and lists for $99 plus shipping on ebay.i plan on fabbing everything up and then getting my buddy at work to weld it all up using as few couplings as possible.man you ought to see the welding beads this dude can put down.he's a welder by trade and seeing many many projects he's done at work i have no doubts in his ability.

Well I may not be able to give you the most acurate info. But I can give you what I have read and what I have learned from others and a search.

Most have gone with the a 3" inch pipe mainly due to availability because most larger IC's have a 3" inlet/outlet. 3" inch pipe is also more available than 2.5 or 3.5. You can find IC's with 2.5 inlet outlets. Some use reducers because of the readily available 3" piping. Another aspect is velocity. The M90can be spun at a high RPM but on an SC it can not. Heat is not your friend.

Some have gone with a 3" inlet and a 2.5" outlet to increase the return velosity. Considering the that I wont be spinning a ported newer blower more than 3%, I will be going with a 2.5" inlet/outlet.