Detailing business question (Dan)?

O

OneSweet89SC

Detailing business question (Dan)?

I'm a college student back home for summer, and I've had some friends parents offering my around $100 each to detail their cars since they have seen how good mine always looks. I am obviously going to do it, but I want to make sure they get their money's worth. What does a $100 detailing job include? I've got all the stuff to do the job right, I'm just curious as to how much of it will be used. Thanks.

Rich

Sig.jpg

Re: Detailing business question (Dan)?

im pretty sure it means washing/waxing the whole car, vaccuming and cleaning the carpet, cleaning and conditioning the leather (if applicable) and maybe a few otehr things, like armor alling the dash and vinyl parts. and tire cleaner.

Rich, here's a basic rundown. There can be quite a few variables to every car, but it's at least a baseline:

1.Wash
2.Rinse-don't dry yet
3.Soap again and clay the car
4.Rinse then dry the car
5.Wax or sealant
6.Dress tires
7Vacuum(including trunk)
8.Carpet spot clean and/or shampoo(cloth seats too if applicable)
9.Clean all interior panels/dash etc and condition
10.Clean/condition leather if applicable
11.Deodorize
12.Windows in/out( Rain X is a nice add-on here )

Find out beforehand if people EXPECT you to include the engine compartment, because that's another whole story there, in time and $$$ I don't generally include this in my work, and interestingly isn't asked for much from anyone I work for.

Also, the 1 BIG variable you need to contend with is paint that needs/ requires more than wax/ sealant, and needs to be deoxidized or buffed out. If you're dealing with mostly new cars, a cleaner wax generally brings them up to snuff ( some won't even need that-just a pure non-abrasive wax/ sealant after claying ), but there may be some that need more, and that GREATLY increases your workload in time and overhead, especially if you don't have a buffer(rotary I mean ).