clutches

operation rob

i need a new clutch. can someone recommend me some clutches for a 94 5 speed? such as types, companies, and what other car clutches will fit on a SC? i am pretty new to cars with standard transmissions so i dont know too much, any special information i need to know? also, is there a certain size clutch that i need to buy?(dont worry, i'm not stupid, i know i cant just take a clutch from a civic and put it on my tbird, not that i'd want to, i'm just wondering if there is different sizes/what the differences are). thanks.
rob.

I have changed my clutch twice in the last two years. The first one was a Luk clutch and that is the same as what came in the car from Ford. I got it from dialaclutch.com. I had it in the car for a few months and had an issue with the pressure plate eating the cluth disk. The price was great and it came with all that you need disk/pressure plate/ throwout and pilot bearing/ and slave cylinder if I remember correctly. When the piece failed an I tried to warrenty it the guy at dail a clutch was an !@#%$#@ to me. But I have not heard to many people that are making stock power have to many problems with the Luk piece. After mine failed I went with the spec stage one and I like it allot more than the LUK. There was no comparision in the parts the spec was of MUCH higher quality both on the clutch disk and pressure plate. http://www.supercoupeperformance.com/partBrowser.aspx?PartID=178 The cluth pedal was a little stiffer but not bad. It grabs and holds great (sometimes a little to good). Just make sure when you do it change the slave cylinder and have the flywheel turned. the clutch is 11.5" and centerforce also makes one for us but i have read mixed feelings on those. Good luck with it!

I have....

I have a Centerforce clutch in my 95 5-speed car with 300RWHP and no problems at all. Car pushes 435 RWTQ and grabs great. The spec clutches grab VERY HARD and I've heard of hard pedals.

Don

Pit Bird said: