PDA

View Full Version : Shortened Condenser



92strokedbird
06-07-2006, 07:09 PM
Okay,i spoke to the company about building the 3 row condensers today.I wanted to know if anyone who has the original Aircon unit can measure the tube size that they used for the unit they made.

I also wanted to know how many would be interested in getting a unit.Just let me know because i wanted to get a group buy on these units.They will be sold on an individual basis but the more units that they sell the lower the price for all.

Any questions can be asked here.

SCCOA5
06-08-2006, 09:14 AM
I am interested in a modified condensor if they become available. Any idea of the cost?

Fordz Coupe
06-08-2006, 09:42 AM
I'm in "StrokerBee", good work, keep us posted on the progress!

ipeefreely
06-10-2006, 09:14 PM
I'm interested! :)

Gotta have Ac with a black car eh!:D

92strokedbird
06-10-2006, 09:27 PM
I contacted someone who had not yet installed it in their car yet and he is giving me all the info required to make a copy of the Aircon unit.I would like to get a group buy together if others wanted one as well.

Grims95SC
06-10-2006, 09:56 PM
If the price is decent I'd be in.

Jason Wild
06-11-2006, 03:32 PM
I'm in for one as well If the price is good.

92strokedbird
06-11-2006, 04:44 PM
I will post prices for them when i know.If i wanted to buy just 1 they told me about $300.

For those interested i can get a group price and buy in numbers and get a price break.I guess to make just one they hose you.:(

Grims95SC
06-11-2006, 04:51 PM
So would it be resonable to assume $200 for the group buy? If that's the case I'm in for sure.

XxSlowpokexX
06-11-2006, 07:34 PM
300 is way to much..I paid half that for mt air con only a few years back..If the 2 row currently offered works fine then I;d just go with that.

92strokedbird
06-11-2006, 08:10 PM
I will give a price when i know for sure,they told me if i wanted one made it would be $300.I will get a price when i tell them the units needed.

If the 2 row unit works fine in the summer then i would use it as well,but it has been tried by George and found to be not up to the task.

XxSlowpokexX
06-12-2006, 12:09 AM
I thought there were a few in Florida running them with no problems?..WHy nto just have that same guy make a 3 core...300 is WAY to much

92strokedbird
06-12-2006, 05:50 AM
I really feel for you Dave Dalke.The price will not be $300,it would be $300 if i was the only one to get one made.Do you understand now!!!

Ryan A Harris
06-12-2006, 09:23 PM
So, what your saying is, 1 unit will cost 300 bucks, but the group buy price may be cheaper. Sounds good, keep me infromed please.;)

Payton
06-12-2006, 11:28 PM
300 bucks is way to much for a condenser, Steve!

Ira R.
06-12-2006, 11:37 PM
I really feel for you Dave Dalke.The price will not be $300,it would be $300 if i was the only one to get one made.Do you understand now!!!
UHM, I must have missed something here. I don't see a post from Dave anywhere. Did I miss a post or something?? How did he get dragged into this discussion now??

Ira

Payton
06-12-2006, 11:42 PM
UHM, I must have missed something here. I don't see a post from Dave anywhere. Did I miss a post or something?? How did he get dragged into this discussion now??

Ira
The were no post by Dave here. It just seems that Damon likes to pull Dave's leg, argueing about everything Dave says. :rolleyes: eventhough that he knows that Dave is right ;)
Sorry to hijack your thread, Steve.

XxSlowpokexX
06-13-2006, 12:04 AM
The were no post by Dave here. It just seems that Damon likes to pull Dave's leg, argueing about everything Dave says. eventhough that he knows that Dave is right
Sorry to hijack your thread, Steve.

That statement couldnt be further from the truth. But I will not digress..NO I WONT!

mannysc
08-13-2006, 02:37 PM
i just used a explorer condenser its a bolt in

Ira R.
08-13-2006, 03:27 PM
i just used a explorer condenser its a bolt in

More details Manny...... with pictures for those of us who are a little slow!!

Ira

95MTSC
08-13-2006, 06:55 PM
Originally Posted by mannysc
i just used a explorer condenser its a bolt in

More details Manny...... with pictures for those of us who are a little slow!!

Ira

I would greatly appreciate this info too, Manny. What years for the Explorer would work? I'd really like to get the condensor out of the way of my poor intercooler. Thanks!

sail7seas
08-13-2006, 09:15 PM
What do you think of this alternative? :confused:
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=64624&highlight=condenser :cool:

XxSlowpokexX
08-13-2006, 11:47 PM
The were no post by Dave here. It just seems that Damon likes to pull Dave's leg, argueing about everything Dave says. eventhough that he knows that Dave is right
Sorry to hijack your thread, Steve.


That statement couldnt be further from the truth. But I will not digress..NO I WONT!

Ok Like..I cant help myself..I didnt even MENTION DAVE!!!!!!!!!!..I wish teh rugrats would do homework before making statements such as that..Ha yes I couldnt help myself!

95MTSC
08-15-2006, 03:52 PM
What do you think of this alternative?
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthre...ight=condenser

I think that's cool :cool: Although for me, the idea of a bolt-on replacement that is not as wide seems easier to me. Very cool though.

Jason Wild
08-25-2006, 11:39 PM
Steve,
anything to report back about?

92strokedbird
08-27-2006, 08:45 AM
They have made one and i should be picking it up in a week or two.:D

Shockwave
09-01-2006, 04:49 AM
Anybody try a 1986 Ford Bronco II condenser?

Look up the condenser on Factory air online catalog (http://www.4s.com/webcatalog/cataloglook.aspx?Site=FactoryAir) part number 54386.

Description Value
Depth 1-3/8"
Height 15"
Includes (2) Inlet O-Ring - 24668
Includes2 (2) Outlet O-Ring - 24666
Inlet Fit #8 Male Springlock
ORing1 (2)-24668, (2)-24666
Outlet Fit #6 Male Springlock
Part Group1 Condensers
Part Group2 6mm
Part Group5 OE 6mm
Width 19-1/2"

Pablo94SC
09-01-2006, 08:39 PM
Anybody try a 1986 Ford Bronco II condenser?

Look up the condenser on Factory air online catalog (http://www.4s.com/webcatalog/cataloglook.aspx?Site=FactoryAir) part number 54386.

Description Value
Depth 1-3/8"
Height 15"
Includes (2) Inlet O-Ring - 24668
Includes2 (2) Outlet O-Ring - 24666
Inlet Fit #8 Male Springlock
ORing1 (2)-24668, (2)-24666
Outlet Fit #6 Male Springlock
Part Group1 Condensers
Part Group2 6mm
Part Group5 OE 6mm
Width 19-1/2"

Hmm... it's about an 1" wider than the original Aircon shortened condensor and an 1" shorter. I think it would work if you were running pipe to the front of the car for an FMIC. Can you tell if it's a two or three row?

cougarsc
09-01-2006, 09:38 PM
Good find, looks like that would work and it's a two row unit. Just make sure you have a condenser fan.

Pablo94SC
09-01-2006, 11:58 PM
Good find, looks like that would work and it's a two row unit. Just make sure you have a condenser fan.

A fan on the condensor was really only needed on the 94+ cars. Ford eliminated the dual speed fan motor and replaced it with a single, low speed motor. If you're really worried about air flow through the condensor and radiator, do a search for the Taurus fan mod. Not only does it move air like a dervish (I think it was 2300cfm), it's shroud covers the radiator so all air is drawn through the cores. More air flow = better cooling. And the bonus, you can get the fan at most local salvage yards!

Shockwave
09-02-2006, 01:37 AM
Good find, looks like that would work and it's a two row unit. Just make sure you have a condenser fan.

I run a 14" pusher on the IC side on the stock condenser now. I think it helps with my 134a conversion. I also use a blue fixed orifice tube to lower high side pressure and keep the compressor from cycling with the lower amount of 134a.

I would think that a Bronco II would have at least the same cubic interior feet as a T-Bird. I think it would work and you can buy these new for around $100. No doubt a smaller condenser isn't going to work as well though.

I wont be trying one until late spring.


Jerry

BT Motorsports
09-02-2006, 04:24 AM
Ford eliminated the dual speed fan motor and replaced it with a single, low speed motor.
I cannot agree. I have changed the fan on a 95 and it was a two speed.

Paul

Pablo94SC
09-02-2006, 01:32 PM
I cannot agree. I have changed the fan on a 95 and it was a two speed.

Paul

Doesn't really matter. The IRCM is only programmed to run one speed out of the main fan. The "high speed" setting is for the pusher fan.

sail7seas
09-03-2006, 03:48 PM
This thread may want to consider replacing the OEM with a parallel flow condenser as literature states they are 33% more efficient.
http://www.ackits.com/merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=AMA&Product_Code=2046AE
and
http://www.ackits.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=Parallel