PDA

View Full Version : eec question



justcompton
06-25-2006, 07:53 PM
i'm having problems with strarting my sc, it starts but it takes a few mins, i took the fuse box cap off under the hood and noticed the eec relay wasnt there could that be the problem, note i just had the motor replaced yesterday and they had it running when they gave it back to me

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:09 PM
If you look closely at the inside of the cover it has an * and says for 3.8 non SC only.

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:10 PM
Now, does it take a few minutes or a few seconds to start.

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:12 PM
it takes a few min, i turns over just fine and acts like it will strat but i wont for awhile

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:17 PM
i also think that they put low grade gas in it instead of 93 and charged me 10 bucks for that, i dont know if that could have anything to do with it or not but i'm guesing not

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:23 PM
I doubt the fuel grade would cause the problem. Has the EEC finished its relearn?

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:26 PM
i dont know how long that takes but i would say it hasnt, i've driven it like a total of 30 min cause it acts like its going to overheat

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:28 PM
Sounds like you have some more problems than just starting. Sounds like your mechanic needs to fix the car right. Why was the engine replaced?

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:32 PM
i thought i had spun a rod bearing but they had my car for 3 months and never took a look at it so i had them to just replace it

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:39 PM
It sounds to me like you have a horror story that has yet to finish. I wonder if they put the thermostat in backwards? I read your previous posts about the mechanic, I would not take it back to them. You need to find someone that knows these cars to work on them. We could take a look at it for you. See this post...http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=78776

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:48 PM
oh theres no way they will see my car again thats for sure, i told you that they had it for 3 months and then i told them to replace the motor, well it took them 2 more months to install the motor but when they had it installed they said that it was overheating and wouldnt start back up for a while and it took them a week to fix that, but i gues that week that they were fixing those problems it was just setting there, but it had never overheated on me with the old motor and it always started on the first try

justcompton
06-25-2006, 08:54 PM
where about it VA are you located, i'm in kingsport, northeast TN, i'm not saying you dont know where that is but just in case

birds4us
06-25-2006, 08:58 PM
We are in Greenville which is near Staunton. It's about 4 hours away.

justcompton
06-25-2006, 09:00 PM
i dont think it would make it that far unless i fixed the overheating problem

birds4us
06-25-2006, 09:05 PM
You have a PM.