anyone mess with an x-pipe setup?

stang-sc

i am starting to try to plan the overhaul on the 88 lx stang i picked up with a 90 sc swap. the prev. owner had a h pipe setup made for the car but he said he thinks there was some scavaging issues and he didnt like the setup. i am gonna be pulling it all apart and going over the car and setup and was considering having an x pipe made and was curious about sound and results if anyone has tried it. i am new to the sc world so forgive me if this is a known thing and i havent found it. thanks.

In general, scavenging isn't as much of an issue on the SC as a Naturally Aspirated car.

with that said, if you go true duals, an x-pipe can work. The real issue with the Sc exhaust note is that it's a V6 with an firing order that doesn't make the nice sweet pulse of a big v-8. The exhaust tends to get buzzy with anything but a nice long muffler. 18-19" long for the rear mufflers cleans it up pretty well. True duals aren't really necessary for performance so you can do just fine going 2 into 1 into 2.

i was kinda trying to avoid that with goin the x pipe route, thanks for the muffler suggestion though, i will keep that in mind.

stang-sc said:
i am starting to try to plan the overhaul on the 88 lx stang i picked up with a 90 sc swap. the prev. owner had a h pipe setup made for the car but he said he thinks there was some scavaging issues and he didnt like the setup. i am gonna be pulling it all apart and going over the car and setup and was considering having an x pipe made and was curious about sound and results if anyone has tried it. i am new to the sc world so forgive me if this is a known thing and i havent found it. thanks.

Take the cats off and install a large exhaust. You can't go too big with a supercharged car