Question for guys with underdrives

Jeremy_K

Has anyone had problems with their charging system running underdrives? I'm hoping that it's related to my alternator power wire being hacked up so many times. I have a new wire on the way (discontinued by Ford by the way). I checked it with my voltmeter while it's running and it's only putting out 12.?? volts.:confused: When I had the stock pullies on there it was closer to 14V and didn't have any problems. I think I may be taxing it too much by running and IC fan and my low speed fan all the time in the summer. Anyone running extra accessories with underdrives with no problems? Can I get a better alternator than stock?

Underdrives can be a problem...

I have been running a set of underdrives for several years. Back when I traveled for a living on the highways, I never had any alternator charging issues. The underdrives provide full alternator charging at around 1000RPM's. Since I traded the road-warrior position for a desk job, most of my driving is stop-n-go rush hour commute to and from the office. I found that I was pulling down the battery because of the constant sitting in traffic at idle. This may not be a problem if you are driving more than you are stopped, but in my case I have a 30-mile commute that takes an average of 1.5 hours. I finally put the regular alternator pulley back on and haven't had any issues since then. So, in my experience, underdrives are just fine for normal driving, but not so good if you do the rush hour stop-n-go every day...

Like Larry said, you should be fine. I've had underdrives for about 10 years without any issues, except for the occassional stuck-in-traffic scenario and I noticed my headlights dimming.

I'd check your voltage with the car at about 1000 rpms and see what it is.