PDA

View Full Version : Upgrading my 91 SC

AMD[H]unter
09-14-2006, 01:34 PM
Hey, guys. I am new to the SC "upgrading" scene, although I am fairly knowledgable about cars in general. I have a 1991 SC with over 200k on the clock, and the engine has around 90k or so. Everything works fine, except my heater core which started leaking yesterday, and is bypassed for now.

Anyway, my upgrades are as follows:
Custom 3" intake
Flowmaster mufflers, with no cat's or res's using 3 inch pipes
3.73 gears
5% underdrive pulley

I have had problems in the past with HG's, as has everyone else. I want to get my heads and bottom end "ready" for a better blower when i can afford it. My question is this; What is the best things to do in my situation? I am looking to make the heads flow better so i can run more boost, so I know I want some ported heads, but other than that, what can i do? Keep in mind, I am a highschool senior with not very much money at all.

Also, what is the leading cause of death for a SC engine other than those blasted HG's? I have been told by my uncle (who builds race engines) that high RPM's are a frequent cause because of the wieght of the pistons. Is there any place to get lighter pistons for the SC's?

kenewagner
09-14-2006, 02:01 PM
One weakness in the SC is heat. They have a marginal radiator, and The intercooler beside being small and poorly designed is mounted in a poor location for air flow. Overdriving the blower makes more heat so you have a computer pulling timing so as not to melt down your engine. Solve heat problems and your engine will love you. Better IC, a bigger radiator, 180 degree thermostat, a chip burned with a lower setting for the fan to come on. The menthol injection is another way to cool ACT temps. You find these cars run like raped apes when its winter and cold outside and drag butt when its hot. They have other problems that are solveable but heat is a big factor

Ken

AMD[H]unter
09-14-2006, 02:39 PM