weird feeling

thundrburd

I'm going to describe this the best I can, hopefully it is good enough, when driving my sc the steering feels weird, it almost feels like when your driving on a really windy day, and your going straight, but you can feel the car blowing around, well even on non windy days my car feels like that, does anyone know what is wrong with it ? the steering feels tight but it almost feels like the tires move back and forth a little, I am at a loss of what could be wrong, so any help would be greatly appreciated

Also could be an alignment issue or your tires need to be balanced, Doesnt sound like a bad issue. Should be easy to fix. Check the easy things first.

well it feels like its the problem is with the front end, but I got new tires on about 3 months ago, but I need new rear tires so I will do that and see if that takes care of it, if not, where is the rear axle nut ?? I am still learning this car so if you could let me know where it is that would be great.

Thanks

My money is on rear wheel bearings.......jack the rear up and try to shake the wheel by grabbing it at 12 and 6.......also try grabbing it at 3 and 9 and shaking. if it wobbles you need bearings if it goes up and down.....or bushings if it wobble left to right.

The rear axle nut is just behind the center cap cover in the middle. It is the easiest thing to check first. The wheel bearings could be shot, but the nut could be loose as well.

When you bought new tires did you have the alignment checked? What was the wear pattern on the old tires? You might want to get a helper to move the steering wheel back and forth while you inspect the components of the steering linkage. I would first look at the rack and pinion bushings. Does the rack move when you turn the wheel?
Later...Danny