I got a free SC

ecyrbh

Just Towed home 91 SC from In-laws for Free...........Car has not run since 02.Got it home and both Head Gaskets are blown after discussion with father-in-law.Tear down confirmed this.What i need is info on machining,mods,things to look for,etc.This is going to be a long term project for me and my son, so any help will be appreciated.to-do list is going to be a long one,but could not resist the offer of this car to our family.Too good to be true.......E-mail me at ecyrbh@satx.rr.com

Where you at, it might be good to find someone local to have a cold drink with and get a good look over it...

First thing I'd wanna know is if the bottom end cold soaked in the coolant..or was it drained and if so was more oil added for it to soak in...

Rick

Father in law said he drove the car home while steaming out of the exhaust,turned it off and checked fluids.No sign of water in oil but empty radiator.I'm an auto mechanic myself and when he told me what had happened,I knew what the problem was going to be.He claimed that he drained the engine of any fluids(water and oil)at that time.He later put new oil back in the motor along with tap water to see if a external leak could be found approx. after a weeks time.He attempted to start the car but it would not fire up.It hasnt been started in approx.4+ years.He did drain the water out of the block so that it would not freeze during winter.My tear down revealed several problems thus far.Head gaskets blown,Excessive play at pulley of blower while holding still,cam syncro has excessive play up and down,Oil pump drive gear at timing gear has 2 teeth missing and minor problems with brakes and drivetrain.The engine will rotate now that heads are off due to severity of HG failure.This is my first SC and first major hands on with a supercharged vehicle.Please help................

Last edited: