painful for the front cover gasket replacement now,any help is welcome.

newbird

the coolant just poil leak from front cover gasket like crazy couple days ago...
and the master mechanic ask for 650 for labour and 250$ for new water pump and some how other 150bucks for repair:mad: just don't have that much $$$$...and decide to do it at home, but it is my first time to put my finger on any engines....

now,got the new water pump back from canadiantire,100 plus tax,and the gasket and seal will be home next monday.of couse, get lots of tools home...:confused:

and till now, i had already took apart the fan,the damper, the powersteering pump mounting ...and the big pain come to my face:the oil pan...

oh,my god, it is very hard to lowering hte oil pan from the bottom..y, didn't raise the engine or lower the subframe--i don't know if i have to do it--that wil be hard work for the new bird like me...
and now,i am just very confused for i have to do so or i can just lower the oil pan without move any other big parts.....really,what a pain....

so, i am here to ask for any idea from any friends here get such work done before,thank you everyone,any ideas is welcome....also on how to put the crank shaft damper back?and use the same bolt? and how to install the seal?i have to buy the special tool or some other easy way to do it?
thanks.

please help this guy get srewed up....

You don't have to drop the oil pan to take off the front cover. If you look at the picture i posted, the two bolts on the end/top don't go thru the oil pan into the block they just hold on the cover with the timing marks on it in place
As far as the damper do a search for "damper install" and you can find that out there.
I think the seal you kind of just tap around it until it seats fully.. use something to protect the seal itself from the tapping device, like a piece of wood.