boost lag?

birdboy89

I have a '94 sc in the shop and I just got the motor swaped out. However the problem existed before the new long block. Ok so the car runs and drives fine but when under boost sometimes it will go to about 5psi and hang there for about another 2,000rpms. Then the boost will just kick and it will peg to 14psi right away. Sometimes there is no lag at all. Again I got a newer long block (less than 20,000) and my problem existed before the swap. Could it be a slipping belt?

Dump Valve

I'm no expert, but I would think you'd hear a slipping belt, or at least see evidence of it in the form of rubber dust deposited on the pullys, etc. Something else you might check is the "dump valve" (don't know the correct name) located between the inlet and outlet plentums of the supercharger. It's mounted behind the supercharger, and actuates a butterfly valve via a vacuum motor and external linkage. I suppose that if this actuator or it's hose was leaking, or the linkage or valve were hanging up, it could cause the condition you mention. However, I'll defer to the more seasoned experts that will respond...

Good Luck,

JD

Any other suggestions? I'd really like to finally get my car back so any help, thoughts or ideas are greatly appreciated.

what TXSC is talkin about is the air/bypass valve. if its staying open when ur under boost i believe it would cause that problem. its supposed to close completely and put all incoming air into the SC. yours may be "stuck open" momentarily after boost. u can check for belt slippage also. it would be at the crank to jackshaft belt or the jaskshaft to SC belt.

good luck.

The bypass valve needs atmospheric pressure to close, and is usually connected to a bunch of other stuff through a check valve, it's this check valve that accumulates vacuum pressure and prevents the bypass valve from closing in a timely manner. Its not the check valve's fault, its just doing its job.