PDA

View Full Version : blower porting



92sclikenew
11-01-2006, 10:49 PM
where do u port the blowers when u port them any 1 have any pics i can see

Toms-SC
11-01-2006, 10:57 PM
Hi

SEARCH

kenewagner
11-01-2006, 11:05 PM
where do u port the blowers when u port them any 1 have any pics i can see

Search will show a lot of examples of porting jobs but dont always show what tools are being used. I use high speed rotary file bits in a die grinder. My favorie tool is a dyna file, its like a small air belt sander with 1/2" or 3/4 inch belts. Blower inlet is more critical than outlet

Ken

ss_scuba
11-02-2006, 04:52 AM
I agree with Ken....I spent about an hour and a half porting and cleaning up the intake side of my sc earlier this summer. It made a world of difference over just opening up the outlet. Sorry no dyno numbers or pics as my harddrive crashed a while ago.

pearl95sc
11-02-2006, 10:49 PM
Here are a few pics of my 94-95 blower that i finally got around to porting. I haven't touched the inlet side yet, but spent about 3-4 hours on the outlet alone. I used matco aluminum cutting bits on a die grinder, a dremel with assorted sanding bands, and good ol sandpaper to finely clean up certain areas.

I used some old pics of mp2 blowers for reference. Hope these help.

sizemoremk
11-02-2006, 11:04 PM
One thing to be sure of, is that when you open up both the in and outlets, there should be no daylight visible from the inlet to the outlet as the rotors turned. I got a little wild with the inlet side, and when I put it back together, you could loook through the inlet, and see the outlet at certain rotors positions. So I threw it away and started again...

92sclikenew
11-03-2006, 09:32 AM
any 1 have a stock up 2 a ported so i can see the diff and how much you should take off in a portin job thanks

sizemoremk
11-03-2006, 04:55 PM
There are plenty of pics on here, just have to use the search function and wade through it...

91supacoop
11-03-2006, 06:01 PM
i'm really surprised no one ha sshown you this pic yet. It really exemplifies everything you should do when porting a blower, this particular blower porting netted me 32RWHP and #%RWTQ without any other modifcations :D :D

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=22700&d=1159544797

92sclikenew
11-03-2006, 07:38 PM
that looks like ~~~~zzz

Tickler
11-03-2006, 10:16 PM
I wouldint spend much of any time on the outlet, I would only smooth the sharp edge close to the rotor plate. As for the inlet I would take out & feather all the sharp edges.

sizemoremk
11-03-2006, 10:47 PM
i'm really surprised no one ha sshown you this pic yet. It really exemplifies everything you should do when porting a blower, this particular blower porting netted me 32RWHP and #%RWTQ without any other modifcations :D :D

http://www.sccoa.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=22700&d=1159544797

Isn't that the blower on Dave Neibert's 10.6 second SC???

Greg Coleman
11-04-2006, 02:46 AM
:D Jeese Davey,can you make me a dozen of those:eek:

Tickler
11-04-2006, 06:33 AM
people always bash that poor blower. I think it would be cool to put on my SC because it would either be the most hateful loudest blower ever, or whisper quiet. Someone should sell that to me so I can make a video.

Feld
11-04-2006, 01:58 PM
people always bash that poor blower. I think it would be cool to put on my SC because it would either be the most hateful loudest blower ever, or whisper quiet. Someone should sell that to me so I can make a video.

If I remember right, the poor thing won't even turn anymore.

92sclikenew
11-05-2006, 10:27 AM
any body else have any other pics any1

seawalkersee
11-05-2006, 03:35 PM
When you do it...I think the furthest you go is 3/4" all the way around the triangle. You MUST ABSOLUTELY keep the lines stright to be paralell with the rotors (or the lines they are on now). There are people on here who will port them for you for about $100.

Chris

NightMare3.8
11-05-2006, 04:11 PM
i would love to know who those people are:D

CMac89
11-05-2006, 04:28 PM
This is the early model that came off of my car that I ever ported. Went a little big on the outlet, but the blower improved. It was also the first blower that I ever ported. I've never really researched blower porting so it was just off of the top of my head.

pearl95sc
11-05-2006, 10:12 PM
i would love to know who those people are:D

If you have some down time. I'll do it. Can't offer any warranties though :p .

seawalkersee
11-05-2006, 10:43 PM
As you can see by Caseys pix, the proper tools make it MUCH cleaner and easier.

Chris

mannysc
11-06-2006, 02:09 AM
why would anyone port a blower? lol
will it make more power?
ive never heard of this stuff ,

porting whats next ported heads?

just kidding i like the machine work clean real nice inlet on blower

seawalkersee
11-06-2006, 04:12 AM
I wish I had that kind of equipment so I could port my stuff too. One day, I will be able to weld aluminum AND port without fear of my hand slipping....

Chris

XR7 Dave
11-06-2006, 08:03 AM
I wish I had that kind of equipment so I could port my stuff too. One day, I will be able to weld aluminum AND port without fear of my hand slipping....

Chris Chicken. :p Anyway, who needs tools????

fturner
11-06-2006, 09:52 AM
Chicken. :p Anyway, who needs tools????

Actually, basic tools will do..... a large ball peen hammer so you can smooth out the rough edges, and a 1" chisel for knocking out the crap in the way.... its only aluminum ;).

CMac89
11-06-2006, 11:54 AM
After I ported a good amount of heads I started to get really good with the dremel to the point where you can't tell if it has been CNC'ed or hand ported. CNC is just a lot faster to take metal out.

mannysc
11-06-2006, 12:41 PM
After I ported a good amount of heads I started to get really good with the dremel to the point where you can't tell if it has been CNC'ed or hand ported. CNC is just a lot faster to take metal out.

CNC all ports are exactly the same

CMac89
11-06-2006, 12:46 PM
If you graph intake ports on a computer you can make all of the ports the same by hand. Takes more time, like I mentioned, though.

sizemoremk
11-06-2006, 04:19 PM
Did ya'll really take off 3/4 inch all around the outlet???

On the outlet I might have done 1/4, if that, I mainly smoothed it out along the edges, and brought the rear of the opening back just a hair...

mannysc
11-06-2006, 05:59 PM
its 1/4 nobody goes more than that they would pass the noise ports up

sizemoremk
11-06-2006, 06:02 PM
its 1/4 nobody goes more than that they would pass the noise ports up

What noise ports??? I have no noise ports:D

NightMare3.8
11-06-2006, 07:09 PM
hey i did a search to look for stock blower next to ported and i couldnt find anything....is the intake and outlet ports the slits on the side of these pics or whats the deal here..

sizemoremk
11-06-2006, 07:28 PM
Try advanced search, and select performance and technical forums to search within, then look for the paper clip symbols to kinda narrow it down to those that have pics attatched... Doesn't return linked pics, but pics linked over a year or so prolly aint there anymore anyways...

try porting, blower, compare or some such strings...

There are some pics in this thread
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60944&page=2&highlight=compare+blower+porting

A few of us have done it this way, look for pics of manny's work!
http://www.sccoa.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55015&highlight=porting

S_Mazza
11-06-2006, 08:07 PM
I agree with most of the people on here, outlet porting should be minimal. It's already larger than the inlet, not even counting the silencer ports. Inlet porting is good, but you have to match the plenum to it or it's pointless. And make sure you leave enough lip to seal.

ss_scuba
11-06-2006, 08:23 PM
I've had my blower apart a couple times now. I originally just opened up the outlet and left a flat edge on it, yes it did help but that's not the best way to go about it.

Open up the outlet about 1/4"-3/8". Be sure to follow the profile of the edge of the rotors. It's up to you, but I suggest a back cut on the outlet so that it allows the air to flow out better. You can also use a radius instead of the backcut. I don't think it will matter too much which you use...I've seen examples of both that work very well.

If you don't want to take alot of material from the inlet, then don't. Radius all the sharp corners and blend everything as best you can. If you can port match it to the intake manifold then that's even better. I've only taken about 1/16" around the inlet, and may do more this winter but I don't think it's worth while to go much further with a stock intake manifold.

If you want the ultimate gain, without stepping up to an MP unit...then find a set of rotors from a GTP and install those as they will tighten up the tolerances within the case and allow a more efficient sc.