PDA

View Full Version : Help on first modifications to perform on my 89 sc

uofmwrestling
11-10-2006, 03:24 PM
What should be the first things to do to my 89 sc? 60K original miles, totally stock.
Done already:
Changed blower belt.
Changed drive serp belt.
Plugs, wires, fuel filter, oil.
K&N filter.

I am looking for minor mods, not full blown blower upgrades, camshafts, etc... I can perform most of the work myself, as I have been doing for many years. I am not used to blower cars at all!!!!!!

Questions:
It appears that the intercooler could be relocated. Does someone make a kit for this? I have a full shop setup in my garage, and since I am a journeyman millwright, I can fab most anything. Or is it ok pulling hot air from the radiator? ( I know...hot air in blowers...not good).
Does a cold air kit work on these cars, or do you have (should) to change the throttle body and relocate the mass air sensor?
How about the catalytic converter? Should it (they) be removed, or is (would):confused: there a problem with back pressure on blower cars?
Is it worth a 155 ltr in tank pump, or is the ( I am assuming that the stock one is a 98 ltr. pump) stock one ok?
Is an aftermarket fuel pressure regulator needed? Are there any mods needed to the rail if it is changed?
How about an 5% or 10% overdriven blower pulley? And does that entail a fuel system upgrade as asked above?

I'll let you sc guys ponder on that for a while.......All of your help is greatly appreciated. And thank you for any suggestions.

kenewagner
11-10-2006, 03:37 PM