PDA

View Full Version : Need 289 Block



hotrodseanxx
01-04-2007, 05:47 PM
i need a 289 block ... willing to drive to NJ, PA, CT, and NY for pickup

fast Ed
01-05-2007, 09:13 AM
Is this for a restoration, where you need to have a 289 block specifically? Otherwise, you can put a 289 rotating assembly in a 302 block, it doesn't have to be a 289 block to get that displacement. Same 4" bore as a 302.


cheers
Ed N.

hotrodseanxx
01-05-2007, 02:47 PM
yeah i just did some research and found that i can use a 302 non-roller block! so i now need to find one of those since i cant find a 289 :)

fast Ed
01-05-2007, 03:46 PM
That is correct. My 1968 Cougar, which had the "C" code 289 2-bbl engine (last year for the 289), had a 302 block casting on the original engine.


cheers
Ed N.