Pinging or detonation under WOT

WhiteVert

Mind you I am new to the SC world, but not to forced induction.

I just picked up a 1994 SC auto and it seems to run fine at idle and under a light load but when you punch it from a roll it wants to detonate to a serios note.

It was owned by a good friend of mine and it belong to his wife before they were married so I have no reason to not believe any thing is truely wrong with this car.

He stated that he paid a local shop to install new plugs and wires not that long ago (within the year), and I know it has sit in his garage for the past 6-8 months with little to no drive time on it. ( AKA poor gas)

What are some of the basics I should be looking at beside the normal tune up or a 100K mile service. Also had the headgasket recall performed on it by a Ford dealer.

Any thought of where to start?

Thank you

Butch

Bad Gas

Mind you I am new to the SC world, but not to forced induction.

I just picked up a 1994 SC auto and it seems to run fine at idle and under a light load but when you punch it from a roll it wants to detonate to a serios note.

It was owned by a good friend of mine and it belong to his wife before they were married so I have no reason to not believe any thing is truely wrong with this car.

He stated that he paid a local shop to install new plugs and wires not that long ago (within the year), and I know it has sit in his garage for the past 6-8 months with little to no drive time on it. ( AKA poor gas)

What are some of the basics I should be looking at beside the normal tune up or a 100K mile service. Also had the headgasket recall performed on it by a Ford dealer.

Any thought of where to start?

Thank you

Butch