inlet plenum

Rowdy36Sc

I have an 89 with the stock blower and 75mm tb and want to know if it is possible to cnc machine the inlet plenum to 75 mm to match the tb and if this will accomplish anything? I am a cnc programmer/machinist and might as well save myself some money with my knowledge! anyone ever try this and get anything out of it? Thanks

Zach,
Your blower has a 60 mm TB on it so unless you purchased a 75, don't bother.

A 75 will require the inlet be opened up to matched or there will be a large obstruction to flow.

Unfortunately, you will break through the inlet in several places by doing so. I hand ported mine and "found" several thin areas in the process. These had to be rewelded and "thickened" so that I can finish.

I can post some pics as you should preweld to beef up those areas as it is easier to weld when the casting is thick.

No, if you can afford it, the MP will eat a ported stocker alive. It is designed for continuity of flow through out. The problem is that they ain't cheap.

A huge gain can be made by porting the stocker and adding the bigger TB but generally other power adders are in the mix.

I will try to take the pics and post them as soon as time allows. I have not worked on it since the welds so the thinner areas will be obvious.

short of splitting the plenum down the middle and adding in material all you can do is flare the opening so there's a smooth transition from tb to plenum.

Last edited:
If you buy the MP inlet you are gonna be upset when it doesn't fit your early style blower.

They fit the 94-95's but really are designed for the MP2 blower.

Good call Scott,

I upgraded both of our cars to new square sport M90 and just assumed he did as well when he mentioned the MP inlet.

nickle,
You are wrong there. I removed a huge amount of material in the throat and throughout the inlet. This is approximately 3/8". The mounting flange was matched to the blower which was about 2mm smaller all the way around.