A/C compressor

BraneRift

I am frustrated.... I bought my 89 sc 5spd from my stepmom when my dad passed away 9 months ago... When i bought it she told me that my dad had replaced the a/c system with the 134 (it appears he did based on the fittings). However the compressor was not engaging. So, I figured it needed a charge. I did a little research (I am a mechanical newb) and bought some refrigerant. In it went. After two cans the compressor started engaging, but only for a second then off.... about ten second pass.. it kicks on again for a second and back off. I read that I wasn't supposed to put more than three cans in, so the third can I put half. Still this compressor is only on for a second then shuts down...

Ideas? Two cents?

Try the other half can of refrigerant if it still does that replace the low pressure switch on the accumulator. Its on the aluminum canister near the fire wall and it has a 2 wire connector it will unscrew and wont discharge the system they are a fairly cheap try. If that doesnt wrk you will need a set of gages to diagnose it may have a blockage in the system or a bad compressor clutch. Depend ing on the year it may have a high pressure switch that may be turning off the compressor due to a blockage.Hope this helps.

My system was completely empty and I had to put 4 cans of 134 in mine when I did the change over.....

The compressor started to cycle on and off after the second can was installed and was cycling all the time after the third one......

We checked it with some gauges and decided to install a fourth can.....

It's nice to finally have the AC back....:D

My system was completely empty and I had to put 4 cans of 134 in mine when I did the change over.....

The compressor started to cycle on and off after the second can was installed and was cycling all the time after the third one......

We checked it with some gauges and decided to install a fourth can.....

It's nice to finally have the AC back....:D