boost/hp

Spohnholtz

Ok so im a little new to my sc still and had a question.
ok so ive heard boost has little to do with horsepower possibly this is wrong.
So i guess my question is if i get a 10% pully for my supercharger itll add 3-3.5psi of boost. well does "boost" make the car faster and if so then we are adding horsepower right? if so how do you convert 3.5 psi to hp?
or possibly im way off the books and possibly someone can explain this to me?

Ok so im a little new to my sc still and had a question.
ok so ive heard boost has little to do with horsepower possibly this is wrong.
So i guess my question is if i get a 10% pully for my supercharger itll add 3-3.5psi of boost. well does "boost" make the car faster and if so then we are adding horsepower right? if so how do you convert 3.5 psi to hp?
or possibly im way off the books and possibly someone can explain this to me?

well i threw a 5% on my 90 SC and picked up about 2 psi. it was easier to spin tires on take-offs, boosted quicker. it's supposed to pick up around 10-15extra hp. which u could convert to about 7hp per psi, but i dont think thats an accurate calculation for boost to hp. someone will have to chime in with that.

rule of thumb : if you're gonna throw a 10% on there , upgrade your exhaust first and AT LEAST put a fan behind your intercooler.

you get more power by how well you can flow air through the engine. The faster you spin your blower, the more air you will push through. The faster you spin the blower, the warmer the air that you are pushing through also, which does not help. 5% should be ok, do exhaust and improve the intercooler to help you out also.

Last edited: