The Bird flies again! sort of

fixmysc

Hello folks:
Well after 3 months of night work in the shop, and countless hours reading the posts here, I installed a rebuilt engine (I've attached 2 pics of the rebuilt, before and after I cleaned it up) and got it to fire up today. I'm a complete novice at this.

Now the engine runs very rough, especially at idle (ran well before in donor car).I've read several posts about rough idle syndrome but have some questions:
First; I would think its best to check the sealing of my S/C tubes. They are tight, but I used permatex blue gasket maker to form the seal between each junction of the tubes (upper and lower). Is this acceptable? I could find no gaskets, so should I open them up and reseal them with more permatex?

Next, a lot of the posts use terms like MAF, IAC, ECC which leave me a little in the dark. The check engine light stays lit all the time, and there is a fair amount of backfiring, or popping. Can I test these components above with a multimeter?

One last major concern. I took it around the block (without hood) only to find that I almost could not accelerate (very slow to respond) but the brakes are almost non-existant. I had to stand on the brake pedal with both feet to stop! This was not an issue for the previous owner. Not sure if this is related to what I imagine could be a major loss of vacum along the way.

Thanks for your patience and input as I'm sure this could be a bit of work to get running right. Oh well, getting there is half the fun!
Thanks, Art

Attachments

• Original engine pic.jpg
    Original engine pic.jpg
    321.1 KB · Views: 119
  • engine cleaned up.jpg
    engine cleaned up.jpg
    122.2 KB · Views: 133
Glad to hear the Bird has come to life.
I understand about spending hours reading post's.
When I did my head gaskets, I read till my eye balls had cord showing.

Sealing the IC tubes is a big deal for idle.
here is an e-bay store that has the teflon gaskets.