New Motor, Same old problems

RickyRiot

First off, I'd like to thank you all for taking the time to read this and offer any help posssible. I work as a mechanic at a respectable repair shop, and am a bit embarrassed that I am so stumped by this car.

The car in question is a 1990 Ford Thunderbird SuperCoupe, with a 3.8L supercharged engine. It is A manual and has A/C.

This car has been to three different repair shops before I got my hands on it. The last two shops both destroyed the rebuilt engine in attempting to get it to run (fuel washing the cylinders, I would guess).

This time, the engine was removed and installed by a very good tech. He is very thorough and accurate. The engine has been completely rebuilt (ground crank, new bearings, chain, rods, pistons, rings, machined heads, new valves, springs, seals, water pump, belts, cam & crank sensor, plugs, wires, DIS module, MAF sensor, used ECM (EEC-IV), timing set (cam syncronizor set, and double checked with specific tool).

I have good spark and fuel, cranks great. I have injector pulse. I have good gas and fuel pump holds a healthy 38 lbs of pressure for over twenty minutes.

The car will start after a bit of cranking. I can keep it running if I feather the gas pedal. It occasionally will attempt to idle (poorly). When it does idle, it still has positive boost(only about 3 lbs - still too much for idle). I am starting to think that the supercharger itself is bad. Probably bad or coked up valving inside. The tach works fine and no other lights are on at time of cranking. I haven't been able to check any codes in it because it dies before I have had a chance to hook up the scanner. No KOEO codes.

So that is my story. I hope I have provided enough info for you guys to help me out. Getting this car driving again would be great for my job status, and especially my ego.

thanks guys.

20-21psi at idle on the gauge
check for leaks ,vac -in the intake system

cheers

Last edited:
Where are you measuring boost??