Mechanical oil pressure hook up

kenewagner

I dont how everyone actually hooks up a line for their oil pressure gauges. I decided to drill a hole opposite the oil idiot gauge sensor and tap it. I have a small 90 degree compression fitting that treads into the hole. I am sending it off to the chromers along with some other parts to get the bling treatment. I have a oil gauge I borrowed from my dad as a temporay gauge untill I decide where I am installing new gauges. What size lines are most aftermarket oil pressure gauges? 1/8" or 1/4" The gauge I have as a temp has a 1/8" line.

Where did some of you guys tap into the oil supply? Show some pictures

Ken

Attachments

• oil sender fitting.jpg
    oil sender fitting.jpg
    181.1 KB · Views: 91
I didn't think to do it that way, I just used a close nipple, a tee and a street 90° to get two ports. Have you verified you will be able to screw everything together without interference? There was a very specific order I had to install the fittings or else they would not be able to be installed. Of course I installed mine while the engine and all of the accessories were still in the car.

100_0872-large.jpg

FWIW, I used -4AN braided stainless steel lines for my gauge install.

I didn't think to do it that way, I just used a close nipple, a tee and a street 90° to get two ports. Have you verified you will be able to screw everything together without interference? There was a very specific order I had to install the fittings or else they would not be able to be installed. Of course I installed mine while the engine and all of the accessories were still in the car.

100_0872-large.jpg

FWIW, I used -4AN braided stainless steel lines for my gauge install.

I will have to screw the sending fitting into the block and than install the line fitting. It should work. I am looking at redoing the cluster with white face gauges including a working oil pressure and 0-30lb boost.

This is how I went through the firewall: